Representative Dean Schamore Appointed Vice-Chair of House Technology Committee


FRANKFORT – Representative Dean Schamore has been appointed Vice-Chair of the newly re-formed House Special Committee on Advanced Communications and Information Technology for a second year.  The committee will meet during the legislative interim to discuss technological issues important to the Commonwealth.

“I am honored to be appointed as vice-chairman of this important committee,” said Rep. Dean Schamore. “As the owner of a technology company, I understand how the industry is evolving and that in order to strengthen and grow our workforce, we must include technology in education and in the private sector as critical components.”

Other state representatives re-appointed are Will Coursey, James Kay, Terry Mills, Chris Harris, Arnold Simpson, Regina Bunch, Adam Koenig and Brian Linder.  Representative Jeff Taylor is a new appointment.

The General Assembly has sixteen standing committees that meet during the legislative session each year, but none are devoted specifically to technological issues.  Currently, legislation in this area is assigned to various committees.